Nominations Open for 2022 Joseph H. Mason Award

Every year, United Way presents the Joseph H. Mason Award to a union member or staff person whose volunteer service to the community honors the spirit of involvement exhibited by the late Joseph H. Mason. United Way of Southern Chautauqua County is now accepting nominations for the Joseph H. Mason Award.

If you are interested in nominating a union member, active or retired, who has provided outstanding volunteer service in Southern Chautauqua County, visit to download a nomination form. Send completed forms by mail to United Way of Southern Chautauqua County at 208 Pine Street, Jamestown, NY 14701 or email them to Nicole Gustafson, Marketing and Resource Development Manager, at Nominations are due by June 8, 2022.

“We’re proud of United Way’s 41 years of supporting and recognizing organized labor with this award,” says Amy Rohler, Executive Director. “Labor unions are a critical partner in United Way’s mission to improve the lives of every person and family in our community.” The Salute to Labor Dinner to celebrate this year’s award will be held on August 10 at the Chautauqua Harbor Hotel. Last year, Burl Swanson, a member of the Communication Workers of America (CWA) 1115 Union, was recognized as the 2021 Joseph H. Mason Award winner.

Previous Award winners include Steve Skidmore (CSEA 6300), Resa Rosen-Murray (NYSUT), Steven Nowell (IBEW 106), Loren Smith (NYSUT Panama Faculty Association), Kyle Sholl & Shawn Tibbitts (IAFF 772/Jamestown Fire Dept.), Christopher Maggio (Jamestown Teachers Association), Don Emhardt (IBEW 106), Robert Servis (AFM #134 Kendall Club PBA), Rodney Kolstee (CSEA 807), and Karen Frucella-Olson (UAW 338.)